Thing 9 – Evernote

I had heard a few people mention Evernote but was never sure what it was all about. Having read this Thing, I realise that it is very like the Microsoft OneNote that I have been using for several years, having originally come across it when doing the dissertation for my library degree. I have mentioned this tool previously and have found it very useful. I have been a bit disgruntled with it recently as for some reason it keeps crashing on my work computer when I first open it up, so I was interested to look at Evernote to see if it would offer any advantages.

Rather than downloading an application that I might not want to use, I opted to watch some of the introductory videos first. One thing that looks really useful is the ability to access your notes from any device by syncing your content. I don’t currently do this with OneNote, but I think it is possible so I must look into that so that I can access my work files from home when the need arises. I think there is also a mobile version which I must investigate too.

My main concern with Evernote is that it is free (which you’d think would be a plus…) but my concern is how long will this particular service be around and do I really want to invest my time and energy in something that I can’t guarantee that I will have access to on an ongoing basis? I think for now I’ll stick with OneNote, even if it is a Microsoft product 😉

This entry was posted in cpd23 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thing 9 – Evernote

  1. kellyquaye says:

    Hi Nicky,
    I’m glad to see you’re back 🙂 How are things going? Are you hoping to complete cpd23 this time around? I got really behind and ended up doing each ‘thing’ back to back – perhaps not ideal, but I did want to complete it and eventually did! I hope everything is good with you.
    -Kelly

Leave a Reply

