Thing 12: Putting the social into social media

I am still trying to work out how to interact with social media. I’ve never been a great one for Facebook – partly my age and partly because I just don’t want to spend the time interacting with friends in that way. I look at Twitter most days, and probably tweet several times a week, but I’m not an avid user. Thinking about it, I put this down to two things.

Firstly, time. I don’t seem to have time in my working day to check Twitter, and as I mostly use it for professional matters, I don’t always want to do this from home, although I often end up doing just that.

Secondly, I’m sometimes not sure about the etiquette on Twitter. I’m a bit on the quiet, shy side by nature, so I don’t always feel comfortable joining in conversations – I’m never sure if that’s rude or not. It’s much easier in real life to work out what’s ok to join in and what isn’t.

And thirdly (I know, I said there were only two things, but you know how it is once you start thinking!), I think I could do with finding some more people to follow to get a wider range of potential interactions. I must follow this up with some of the CPD23 participants, perhaps, to find some other librarians who tweet.

This entry was posted in cpd23 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thing 12: Putting the social into social media

  1. Kelly Quaye says:

    Hi Nicky,
    I’m glad to see you’re sticking with this. I kind of agree with you about Twitter – I was reluctant to use it in the beginning and I think it takes time to figure out a way of using it that works for you. Since working on Chartership, I’ve found it really useful as I can pose questions, seek clarification and support from other candidates, and join in with the organised #chartership chats. If I attend a conference I also use Twitter to find out about events and what sessions are worth attending. However, beyond discussion of things that are relevant to me in the moment (such as Chartership or a conference) I haven’t found it to be so useful. I typically struggle with a feeling of ‘missing out’ because of the rate at which conversations take place on Twitter – it’s easy to feel as though you’re always late to the conversation but I’m okay with just picking it up as and when it’s helpful. I also think that if it’s not helpful to you, then why waste your time with it.

    Are you still planning on completing CPD23 or just picking out the ‘things’ that are helpful to you?

    Kelly

Leave a Reply

